Afghanistan vs New Zealand Highlights – June 8th, 2019 – Cricket World Cup

Generally a high scoring venue with particularly short straight boundaries, Taunton has seen an average first innings score of 299 in the last five completed List-A matches. Teams batting first have won three of these, and pacers have tended to the bulk of the bowling across those ten innings, delivering 287.2 overs as opposed to just 102 from the spinners. Naturally, then more wickets have fallen to pace but its also been marginally more expensive – 6.4 runs per over as compared to the 5.8 conceded by spin. With a couple of morning showers expected, bowling first might be the best bet.

Afghanistan have lost Mohammad Shahzad to injury and are fretting over the fitness of Asghar Afghan as well. They have another decision to make outside of that: roping in an extra seamer in Aftab Alam instead of Mujeeb, something they probably rued in Cardiff. Kane Williamson had said that Tim Southee was recovering well but it’s unlikely he’d make the XI now, with Matt Henry bowling as well as he is. New Zealand, however, may consider the inclusion of Sodhi depending on conditions in Taunton. If that happens, Colin de Grandhomme will most likely have to make way.

Watch NZ v Afg cricket highlights videos today – 13th match (D/N), ICC Cricket World Cup from The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton (England) Saturday, 8-6-2019.

Afghanistan v New Zealand Icc Cricket World Cup 2019 Highlights

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Points Table

Kane Williamson won the toss and AFG will bat first.

Afghanistan team
Hazratullah Zazai, Noor Ali Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib (c), Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Alikhil †, Rashid Khan, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan.
New Zealand team
MJ Guptill, C Munro, KS Williamson (c), LRPL Taylor, TWM Latham †, JDS Neesham, C de Grandhomme, MJ Santner, MJ Henry, LH Ferguson, TA Boult.

Match Timings: 13.30 start, First Session 13.30-17.00 Interval 17.00-17.30, Second Session 17.30-21.00

Umpires – Michael Gough, Aleem Dar
TV Umpires – Richard Kettleborough
Match Referee – Ranjan Madugalle
Reserve Umpire – Richard Illingworth
Match number – ODI no. 4154